BREAKING: FG Opens 10 More National Parks Across the Nation

Page Visited: 86

Nigeria government has opened 10 new national parks in the country.

The announcement was made by the Conservator- General of the Nigeria Parks Service, Dr. Ibrahim Musa Goni as he was receiving the executive members of the Association of Tourism Practitioners of Nigeria, on a visit in Abuja.

According to the THE SUNNEWS ONLINE, the total number of national parks is now 17 nationwide.

List of lthe new parks as announced by the Conservator-General:

Alawa Game Reserve (Niger State); Apoi Forest Reserve (Bayelsa State); Edumenum Forest Reserve (Bayelsa State); Falgore Forest Reserve( Kano State); Hadejia Wetlands Games Reserve(Jigawa State) Kampe Forest Reserve (Kwara State); Kogo Forest Reserve(Katsina State) Marai Forest Reserve (Jigawa State); Oba Hill Forest Reserve(Osun State); and Pandam Forest Reserve(Plateau State). According to Dr. Goni, Nigeria also now has the only marine park in West Africa situated in Bayelsa State in the South- South region. He also noted that the government is now in the process of partially commercializing three of the existing national parks, Cross River National Park, Gashaka Gumti National Park and Kainji Lake National Park. “The federal government is currently pursuing a PPP arrangement so that it can hands-off the excess load that it is carrying, which will help it lessen its burden and give room for the private sector to invest in these assets.”

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »