June 12, 2021

President Buhari sacks Army chief and other service chiefs

Page Visited: 160

President Muhammadu Buhari has sacked Tukur Buratai as the Chief of Army Staff.

Other service chiefs in charge of Navy and Air Force were also sacked according an announcement made on Tuesday by Femi Adesina, Special Adviser to the President.

“PMB appoints new Service Chiefs. Maj Gen LEO Irabor, CDS, Maj Gen I Attahiru, Army, Rear Adm AZ Gambo, Navy, AVM IO Alao, Air Force. He congratulates outgoing Service Chiefs on efforts to bring enduring peace to the country,” Femi Adesina said in a tweet on Tuesday.

The service chiefs, who were first appointed in 2015, have come under immense criticism over their failure to check widespread insecurity nationwide.

The president himself also faced criticism for extending the tenure of the service chiefs despite their failure to address insecurity.

Full presidency statement released by Mr. Adesina on the development below:

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

Buhari appreciated the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he described as “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs include: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and instructed them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their duties.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com